鋰離子電池的陽極或負極通常由碳基(主要是石墨)和尖晶石氧化物(Li4Ti5O12)材料製成。鋰離子在充電時嵌入陽極,在放電時需要逆轉這一過程。因此,陽極必須表現出與電解液的良好電化學穩定性,並且容納大量的鋰而不發生重大的結構變化。
在製造的電芯循環中,電解質溶液在陽極上形成固體電解質界面膜(SEI),具有離子導電但電子絕緣性。在陽極上形成不可逆還原的電解質漿料需要仔細提純,優化顆粒形態,並選擇電解質添加劑。流變儀可使工程師產生一致的漿料黏度,形成均勻的塗層,使電池性能更高、更安全。
鋰離子電池通常在 -20 ℃ 至 60 ℃ 的溫度下運作。更高的溫度會破壞 SEI 並導致陽極分解。熱分析可使研究人員瞭解陽極及其 SEI 的熱穩定性,同時優化漿料成分和溶劑乾燥以改進電池。

儀器和測試參數

材料範例:石墨烯、石墨、矽膠

DSC beauty

差示掃描量熱儀

氧化石墨烯還原

熱容量

熱重分析儀

 

DHR beauty

流變儀

  • 漿料形成的混合
    • 黏度 (切變稀化指數)
  • 最少沉降/聚集的漿料儲存
    • 黏度 (零切變黏度)
    • 黏彈性
  • 可泵送性、漿料輸送
    • 屈伏應力
    • 黏彈性
  • 電極塗層
    • 黏度 (切變稀化指數)
    • 觸變減黏性
  • 塗層重量/塗層厚度優化
    • 黏度 (觸變減黏性)
  • Powder Characterization

同步熱分析儀

 

黏結劑/添加劑: 羧甲基纖維素 (CMC), 丁苯橡膠 (SBR)
DSC beauty

差示掃描量熱儀

品質控制

  • 熔化溫度
  • 熔融熱
  • 玻璃轉變

 

熱重分析儀

  • 熱穩定性
    • 分解溫度
  • 成分測定
    • 黏結劑/添加劑成分

 

活性材料

材料範例:石墨烯、石墨、矽膠

DSC beauty

差示掃描量熱儀

氧化石墨烯還原

熱容量

熱重分析儀

 

DHR beauty

流變儀

  • 漿料形成的混合
    • 黏度 (切變稀化指數)
  • 最少沉降/聚集的漿料儲存
    • 黏度 (零切變黏度)
    • 黏彈性
  • 可泵送性、漿料輸送
    • 屈伏應力
    • 黏彈性
  • 電極塗層
    • 黏度 (切變稀化指數)
    • 觸變減黏性
  • 塗層重量/塗層厚度優化
    • 黏度 (觸變減黏性)
  • Powder Characterization

同步熱分析儀

 

黏著劑
黏結劑/添加劑: 羧甲基纖維素 (CMC), 丁苯橡膠 (SBR)
DSC beauty

差示掃描量熱儀

品質控制

  • 熔化溫度
  • 熔融熱
  • 玻璃轉變

 

熱重分析儀

  • 熱穩定性
    • 分解溫度
  • 成分測定
    • 黏結劑/添加劑成分

 

應用範例

陽極材料的 TGA 熱穩定性和成分量

電極需要黏著劑和添加劑,以確保與金屬電流收集板適當黏附。羧甲基纖維素(CMC)是陽極電極一種常見的黏著劑,丁苯橡膠(SBR)則是提供靈活性的常見添加劑。TGA 測量 CMC、SBR 和石墨活性陽極材料的熱降解溫度和組成。Discovery TGA 的高度靈敏 Tru-Mass Balance 能確保精確測量電極的每個成分。在這個測試中,樣品直接裝在 TGA 的鉑金盤上,無須任何樣品製備。

結論:

TGA 測量熱穩定性,並量化陽極電極中黏著劑和添加劑的用量。TGA 也可以對材料進行品質控制,確保每批電極中的活性材料、黏著劑和添加劑的用量相同。黏著劑不足會影響活性陽極材料對金屬電流收集板的附著力;黏著劑過多則會降低活性材料的含量,影響電化學反應。黏著劑/添加劑比例的優化對於優化電池性能和提高電池壽命至關重要。

TGA curve of graphite anode in a TA Instruments Discovery TGA. The sample was heated to 1000 ˚C at 10 ˚C/min under inert conditions. The graphite anode materials contained CMC and SBR as binder and additive respectively. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that the graphite anode material was stable until approximately 288 and 417 ˚C resulting in small weight percent losses of 0.8% and 3.6%, respectively related to the CMC and SBR content.

流變儀測定電池漿料的黏度

電極漿料是複雜的非牛頓流體,屬於固體顆粒和聚合物黏著劑在溶劑中的混合物。它們在電極製造過程的不同階段會受到廣泛的剪切變形率。理想的漿料具有低黏度,以達到最佳的混合和塗覆效果(高剪切率),但是黏度又夠高,以便在乾燥過程中獲得良好的平整度,並在儲存過程中儘量減少顆粒的沉降和結塊(低剪切率)。
右圖顯示了陽極漿料在 TA Instruments Discovery 混合流變儀(DHR)中不同剪切率下的黏度。載入流變儀之前已先混合樣品。使用一個具有溶劑阱的 40公厘 平行板,在 25˚C 下從 0.01 到 1000 s-1 進行測量。
圖中的資料顯示了在 50 倍剪切率下測量的漿料黏度。DHR 的高階拖杯馬達技術可在 20 分鐘內完成測量,並直接讀出黏度。一開始,在模擬儲存條件的低剪切率下黏度很高,以防止沉澱並減少塗敷前的混合能。DHR 的低扭矩靈敏度確保在這個低剪切率區域進行精確、可重複的測量,使資料更具可信度。
隨著剪切率增加,漿料出現典型的剪切稀化行為,黏度幾乎下降十倍。這對於確保漿料能夠有效混合,並在應用於基材時具有適當的流動性很重要。
漿料流變學在成膜階段(一個低剪切率的過程)繼續扮演關鍵的角色,在其中黏度增加的速度(稱為觸變性)確保塗層的平整性。這在需要高能量密度的高塗層重量電極時尤其重要。

Viscosity vs shear rate of an LIB electrode slurry over 5 decades of shear rates. The slurry exhibits shear-thinning behavior with the viscosity decreasing with increasing shear rate.
結論:

流變性測量為研究人員提供一個可靠的分析工具,開發性能和可製造性更佳的新配方。瞭解和控制漿料流變學不但有助於選擇適當的製程(成捲式塗敷、狹縫式塗敷等),還能儘可能提高產量,生產出一致、無缺陷、塗層重量均勻、與電極接觸良好的薄膜。由於 DHR 高度直觀的使用者介面縮短了操作員的訓練時間並提高生產率,因此這些測量可以在研發和生產環境中使用。

哪些熱事件會導致熱失控?

雖然對電池的熱失控過程仍有待解的問題,但是目前的理解顯示它是由以下一系列事件引發的:隨著電池溫度不斷升高,導致熱失控的放熱反應與鋰離子電池(LIB)的每個內部元件發生破壞性的相互作用;其中一些元素率先被破壞,而大多數元素在失效時會使熱量加速累積。
第一個開始分解的元件是固體電解質界面膜(SEI),通常在 80-120°C(176-248°F)左右開始分解。此時可以減緩熱失控,但是一旦陽極暴露在電解液中,就不再可逆。在反應性陽極表面發生的放熱反應增加系統的熱量,直到下一個臨界溫度。
隔離膜是下一個受影響的元件,其失效有兩個階段:隔離膜在 120-150°C(248-302°F)左右開始熔化並造成小規模短路,然後在 220-250°C(428-482°F)左右破裂,造成更嚴重的內部短路。
以下反應會在前一個溫度範圍之後迅速直接地發生;陰極材料、黏著劑和電解液都開始分解,使電池芯的溫度急劇升到約 800°C(1472°F)。這些反應會產生氣體,增加 LIB 內的壓力。
除了快速發熱外,陰極反應還有一個災難性的副產品,那就是易燃的氧氣。根據具體條件,直接的結果是「熱 + 氧氣 = 失火」或「熱 + 氣體 = 破裂/爆炸」。當然,所有材料都不盡相同,而且可能在這些溫度範圍內或是更高或更低,未來甚至在這些溫度之外,所以必須採用適當的測試為特定的電池選擇最安全的材料。

TGA 熱圖突顯了石墨陽極材料的熱不穩定性
Figure 2. Heat flow signal of the NMC cathode
graphite anode (bottom) at 100% SOC.

為了避免熱失控並選擇耐熱性最佳的電池材料,電池研究人員會進行差示掃描量熱法(DSC)和熱重分析(TGA):
DSC:DSC 測量進入或流出材料的熱流,作為溫度或時間的函數。相變化打斷了溫度變化與吸收或釋放熱量之間的熱容量關係,可見於圖表Y軸。從安全操作溫度到熱濫用,它可在各種條件下進行測試。
TGA:TGA 測量樣品質量,作為溫度或時間的函數。一般來說,熱穩定性較好的材料可在質量變化之前達到較高的溫度。

 

使用 DSC 的測量結果回答下列問題:
  • 材料的熔化溫度,Tm
  • 材料的玻璃轉化溫度,Tg
  • 構成電池的各種材料的最低相變溫度。
使用 TGA 的結果回答下列問題:
  • 材料開始分解的溫度。
  • 在給定溫度下,因熱分解或氧化分解而損失的樣品質量。
  • 在給定溫度下的分解反應(包括氧化反應和熱誘導反應)速度。
  • 構成電池的各種材料的最大熱穩定溫度。

流變儀如何幫助生產均勻的電池漿料塗層?

在製造鋰離子電池(LIB)的過程中,電極的製備涉及「電極漿料」的產生:固體導電顆粒在溶劑介質中的懸浮液,以及聚合物黏著劑和活性成分。這種漿料的特性對壽命品質至關重要,會影響性能和壽命。製造有效的電極漿料的主要衝突是黏度和黏彈性必須在一個狹窄的範圍內,對於某些步驟夠高,對於其他步驟則夠低,最終目標是均質的產品。
在最初的混合過程中,黏度必須夠低,以便均勻混合。混合後,黏度必須夠高,使導電固體保持均勻懸浮,避免沉澱。此外,漿料必須能夠均勻塗敷,在乾燥過程中保持水平,並有足夠的黏性以避免分層。非牛頓流體是最好的解決方案,因為它們的黏度沒有單一的恒定測量。

流變學提供了強大技術來分析電池漿料的黏度和黏彈性能

一般來說,出現大量剪切稀化的漿料在剪切應變下會較不黏稠,很適合這些應用。單獨使用時,黏度足以維持懸浮液的均勻性,但在足夠的力量下混合良好並能薄薄擴散。一般來說,黏度計是測量黏度和表徵「流體」材料的有用工具,但是對於有多個數值的材料則無效。流變儀與黏度計不同,可以測量非牛頓物質在剪切稀化或剪切稠化過程中的一系列黏度值,所以對定位這些漿料的特性至關重要。此外,內建附件方便在各種溫度、壓力和濕度條件下進行測試,有助於模擬工作環境。
除了電極漿料本身外,對於流動行為的另一個重要影響是用於流體應用的方法和設備。噴嘴的形狀和泵提供的動力對於偽塑性漿料承受的應力大小有直接影響,並由此影響在塗覆過程中的流體特性。材料的過度潛變特性對塗層的變形與平整度也至關重要,特別是在乾燥時。任何材料收縮也會大幅影響漿料凝固後的外觀。
Discovery 混合流變儀:Discovery 混合流變儀透過測量相對於受控應變的變形,來測量材料對外力的流動反應。DHR 的「混合」性質使之能夠測量典型的力值以及應力和應變控制測量,以實現準確和簡化的流程。DHR 也有多種 Smart Swap™ 配件,大幅擴展了可能的研究範圍。

 

使用 DHR 測量結果找到以下屬性:
  • 材料的黏性,與力有關
  • 材料的黏彈性:力和變形之間的非線性時間依賴關係。
  • 材料的應力-應變曲線和相關因素
  • 材料的屈服應力:開始發生永久變形的應力,包括導電顆粒向電極底部的不良沉降。
  • 材料的觸變行為:材料在受到剪切稀化力後,在靜止狀態下能在多大程度上恢復黏性。
  • 用於塗敷的理想噴嘴幾何形狀和泵的功率

如需瞭解電池材料測試要求,請與我們聯繫。

Contact Us View Brochure

The anode, or negative electrode, in lithium-ion batteries is usually made of materials based on carbon (primarily graphite) and the oxide spinel (Li4Ti5O12). Lithium ions intercalate at the anode during charging and need to reverse this process during discharging. Anodes therefore must demonstrate good electrochemical stability with the electrolyte as well as hold large amounts of lithium without significant changes in structure.  

During cell cycling in manufacturing, the electrolyte solution forms a solid electrolyte interface (SEI) on the anode which is ionically conductive but electronically insulating. Forming the electrolyte slurry for irreversible reduction on the anode requires careful purification, optimization of particle morphologies, and the selection of electrolyte additives. Rheology enables engineers to produce consistent slurry viscosities that result in uniform coatings for higher performing and safer batteries. 

Lithium-ion batteries typically operate at temperatures of -20 °C to 60 °C. Higher temperatures can disrupt the SEI and lead to anode decomposition. Thermal analysis enables researchers to understand the thermal stability of the anode and its SEI while optimizing slurry composition and solvent drying for improved batteries.  

Instruments and Test Parameters

Material Examples: Graphene, Graphite, Silicone
Discovery DSC

Reduction of graphene oxide

Heat capacity

Discovery SDT
Decomposition analysis

Reduction of graphene oxide

Evolved gas analysis, TGA-MS, TGA-FTIR, TGA-GCMS

Discovery TGA
Decomposition analysis

Composition determination

Slurry drying

  • Drying temperature
  • Drying kinetics
Discovery Hybrid Rheometer
Mixing for slurry formation

  • Viscosity (shear thinning index)

Slurry storage with minimal settling / aggregation

  • Viscosity (zero shear viscosity)
  • Viscoelasticity

Pumpability, transport of slurry

  • Yield stress
  • Viscoelasticity

Electrode coating

  • Viscosity (shear thinning index)
  • Thixotropy

Optimization of coat weight / coat thickness

  • Viscosity (thixotropy)
Material Examples: Carboxymethyl Cellulose (CMC), Styrene-Butadiene Rubber (SBR)
Discovery DSC

Quality control

  • Melting temperature (Tm)
  • Heat of fusion
  • Glass transition (Tg)
Discovery TGA

Thermal stability

  • Decomposition temperature

Composition determination

  • Binder/additive contents
Active Material
Material Examples: Graphene, Graphite, Silicone
Discovery DSC

Reduction of graphene oxide

Heat capacity

Discovery SDT
Decomposition analysis

Reduction of graphene oxide

Evolved gas analysis, TGA-MS, TGA-FTIR, TGA-GCMS

Discovery TGA
Decomposition analysis

Composition determination

Slurry drying

  • Drying temperature
  • Drying kinetics
Discovery Hybrid Rheometer
Mixing for slurry formation

  • Viscosity (shear thinning index)

Slurry storage with minimal settling / aggregation

  • Viscosity (zero shear viscosity)
  • Viscoelasticity

Pumpability, transport of slurry

  • Yield stress
  • Viscoelasticity

Electrode coating

  • Viscosity (shear thinning index)
  • Thixotropy

Optimization of coat weight / coat thickness

  • Viscosity (thixotropy)
Binder/Additive
Material Examples: Carboxymethyl Cellulose (CMC), Styrene-Butadiene Rubber (SBR)
Discovery DSC

Quality control

  • Melting temperature (Tm)
  • Heat of fusion
  • Glass transition (Tg)
Discovery TGA

Thermal stability

  • Decomposition temperature

Composition determination

  • Binder/additive contents

Application Examples

TGA thermal stability and compositional amount of anode materials

Electrodes require binders and additives to ensure proper adhesion to the metal collector. For the anode electrode, carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC) is a common binder and styrenebutadiene rubber (SBR) is a common additive that provides flexibility. TGA measures the thermal degradation temperatures and composition of CMC, SBR and graphite active anode materials. The high sensitivity Tru-Mass Balance of the Discovery TGA ensures accurate measurement of each component in the electrode. For this test, the sample was loaded directly on a TGA platinum pan without any sample preparation.

Conclusion:

TGA measured the thermal stability and quantified the amount of binder and additive in the anode electrode. TGA can also provide quality control of the materials to ensure the same amount of active material, binder and additive are in each batch of the electrode. Insufficient amounts of binder will affect the active anode material’s adhesion to the metal collector; too much binder will reduce the active material’s content and affect the electrochemical reaction. Optimization of binder/additive ratios is essential for optimal battery performance and improvement of battery life.

TGA curve of graphite anode in a TA Instruments Discovery TGA. The sample was heated to 1000 ˚C at 10 ˚C/min under inert conditions. The graphite anode materials contained CMC and SBR as binder and additive respectively. Thermogravimetric analysis shows that the graphite anode material was stable until approximately 288 and 417 ˚C resulting in small weight percent losses of 0.8% and 3.6%, respectively related to the CMC and SBR content.

Rheology to determine battery slurry viscosity

Electrode slurries are complex, non-Newtonian fluids that are a mixture of solid particles and polymeric binder in a solvent. They are subjected to a wide range of changing shear deformation rates at different stages of the electrode manufacturing process. The ideal slurry has a low viscosity for optimum mixing and coating (high shear rates), but a high enough viscosity for good levelling during drying and to minimize particle settling and agglomeration during storage (low shear rates).

The figure to the right shows the viscosity of an anode slurry under different shear rates on a TA Instruments Discovery Hybrid Rheometer (DHR). The sample was mixed before loading on the rheometer. The measurements were performed from 0.01 to 1000 s-1 at 25˚C using a 40mm parallel plate with solvent trap.

The data in the figure shows the viscosity of the slurry as measured over 5 decades of shear rates. The Advanced Drag Cup Motor technology of the DHR allows for the measurement to be performed in less than 20 minutes with a direct readout of the viscosity. Initially, under low shear rates which simulate storage conditions, the viscosity is high to prevent settling and reduce the energy of mixing prior to coating. The low torque sensitivity of the DHR ensures accurate, repeatable measurements in this low shear rate region, providing greater confidence in the data.

As the shear rate increases, the slurry exhibits a typical shear-thinning behavior where the viscosity of the slurry decreases by almost a decade. This is important to ensure that the slurries can be mixed efficiently and have the right amount of flowability when applied onto the substrate.

The slurry rheology continues to play a critical role in the film-formation stage (a low shear rate process) where the rate of viscosity increase (known as thixotropy) ensures the levelling of the coatings. This is especially critical when electrodes with high coat weight for higher energy density are desired.

Viscosity vs shear rate of an LIB electrode slurry over 5 decades of shear rates. The slurry exhibits shear-thinning behavior with the viscosity decreasing with increasing shear rate.
Conclusion:

Rheological measurements provide researchers with a reliable analytical tool for developing new formulations with improved performance and manufacturability. Understanding and controlling the slurry rheology helps in not only choosing an appropriate manufacturing process (roll-to-roll coating, slot-die coating, etc.) but also maximizes the production output to produce consistent, defect-free films of uniform coat weight and good contact with the electrode. These measurements can be used both in R&D and manufacturing settings owing to the DHR’s highly intuitive user-interface that reduces operator training times and increases productivity.

What Thermal Events Lead to Thermal Runaway?

While there are remaining questions about the thermal runaway process in batteries, current understanding suggests that it is initiated by the following series of events.  The exothermic reactions leading to thermal runaway interact destructively with every inner component of a Lithium-Ion Battery (LIB) as the battery’s temperature continues to rise; some elements are early casualties while most directly speed up heat accumulation as they fail.

The first component to begin breaking down is the Solid-Electrolyte Interphase (SEI), which generally starts around 80-120°C (176-248°F). At this point, Thermal Runaway can be slowed, but is no longer reversible once the anode is exposed to the electrolyte. Exothermic reactions occurring at the reactive anode surface add more heat into the system until it reaches the next critical temperatures.

The separator is the next component affected, and it fails in two stages. Around 120-150°C (248-302°F) the separator begins to melt and causes a small short-circuit, followed by a more serious internal short circuit when the separator breaks up near 220-250°C (428-482°F).

The following reactions happen quickly and directly following the previous temperature range; the cathode material, binder, and electrolyte all begin decomposition, which drastically raises the temperature of the battery cell to temperatures about 800°C (1472°F). These reactions have gas products which increase the pressure within the LIB.

Aside from quick heat generation, the cathodic reactions have a disastrous byproduct of oxygen which is flammable. Depending on the exact conditions, the immediate result is either “Heat + Oxygen = Fire” or “Heat + Gas = Rupture/Explosion”. Of course, not all materials are made equal and may fall high or low on these ranges – or even outside of these temperatures in the future – so it is essential to make the safest possible choice of materials for a given battery with proper testing. 

TGA Thermogram Highlighting Thermal Instability of Graphite Anode Material 

To avoid thermal runaway and select battery materials with optimal heat tolerances, battery researchers turn to Differential Scanning Calorimetry (DSC) and Thermogravimetric Analysis (TGA):  

DSC: DSC measures the heat flow into or out of a material as a function of temperature or time. Phase changes interrupt the heat capacity relationship between temperature change and heat absorbed or released and are visible on graph output. It allows for testing in a variety of conditions ranging from safe operating temperature to thermal abuse. 

TGA: TGA measures mass of a sample as a function of temperature or time. Generally speaking, a more thermally stable material can reach a higher temperature before any change in mass occurs.  

Answer the following questions with results from your DSC:
  • The material’s melting temperature, Tm 
  • The material’s glass transition temperature, Tg 
  • The lowest phase change temperature of various materials that comprise the battery.
Answer the following questions with results from your TGA:
  • The temperature at which a material begins decomposition. 
  • The amount of sample mass lost to thermal or oxidative decomposition at a given temperature. 
  • The rate of decomposition reactions (both oxidative and thermally induced) at a given temperature. 
  • The maximum thermally stable temperature of the various materials that comprise the battery.  

 

How does rheology help produce uniform battery slurry coatings?

During the creation of a Lithium-Ion Battery (LIB), preparing the electrode involves the creation of an “electrode slurry”: a suspension of solid conductive particles in a solvent medium, along with polymer binders and active components. The properties of this slurry are essential to the quality of a life, affecting performance and lifetime. The primary conflict of creating an effective electrode slurry is that its viscosity and viscoelasticity must be in a narrow range to be high enough for some steps and low enough for others, with the end goal of a homogenous product.

During initial mixing, the viscosity must be low enough to be evenly blended. After mixing, the viscosity must be high enough for the conductive solids to remain evenly suspended and avoid settling. Additionally, the slurry must be able to coat evenly, remain level during drying, and have sufficient adhesion to avoid delamination. Non-Newtonian fluids are the best solution, as they do not have a single constant measurement for viscosity.

Rheology provides a powerful technique for analyzing viscosity and viscoelasticity performance for battery slurries

Generally, slurries that exhibit high amounts of shear-thinning, which become less viscous under shear strain, are advantageous for these applications. When left alone, the viscosity is sufficient to maintain homogeneity in suspension, but mixes well and spreads thinly under sufficient force. Typically, a viscometer is a useful tool for measuring viscosity and characterizing “fluid” materials, but it won’t be helpful for materials that have more than one value. Unlike a viscometer, rheometers can measure a range of viscosity values during shear thinning or shear thickening for Non-Newtonian substances, so they are critical to characterizing these slurries. Additionally, built-in attachments allow for easy testing in various temperature, pressure, and humidity conditions, which can help simulate working environments.

Aside from the electrode slurry itself, another significant impact on its flow behavior is the methods and equipment used for fluid application. The shape of the nozzle and power supplied by the pump will directly affect the amount of stress the pseudoplastic slurry is under – and by result, its fluid properties during coating. The transient creep properties of a material are also critical to the deformation versus levelness of a coating, especially while drying. Any material shrinkage will also significantly affect the appearance of the slurry after it’s set.

Discovery Hybrid Rheometer: The Discovery Hybrid Rheometer measures the flow response of a material in response to applied force by measuring the deformation relative to a controlled strain. The “Hybrid” nature of the DHR allows it to measure typical force values as well as stress and strain control measurements for an accurate and streamlined process. The DHR also has a wide array of Smart Swap™ accessories that greatly expand the possible scope of study.

Find the following properties with results from your DHR:
  • The material’s viscosity, dependent to force
  • The material’s viscoelasticity: non-linear time-dependent relationship between force and deformation.
  • The material’s stress-strain curve and associated factors
  • The material’s yield stress: the stress at which permanent deformation begins to occur, which includes the undesirable settling of conductive particles towards the bottom of the electrode.
  • The material’s thixotropic behavior: to what extent the material will recover its viscosity during rest after being subjected to shear-thinning force
  • The ideal nozzle geometry and pump power for coating